The mellowing old cock

I was the cocky cock 

I crowed  and crowed till I lost my voice

But the sun still rose

So I learned from the humble sparrows

I thought I was flying high

Till I saw the eagle fly

Clever smart and intelligence

Is as any acquisitions

And the wise owl said

It was all but divine aid

Nor did I know about humility

Lowering the gaze

Head bowed

To listen without haste

I saw the kingfisher and the flamingoes

Waiting and waiting and zapp

Waiting and waiting and nothing

Still he waits in the name of patience

Reward was the promise so

I learned to learn

From the eagle, owl, sparrows and flamingoes

I learned from the old cock

There is such thing as divinity

That makes the world goes round

I learn to unlearn

I learn to relearn

Speedy would it be if I were not as cocky

Leave a Reply

