Darul Hadith, Darul Quran

There are two regular fund raisers that visit me often. So regular we become acquaintences. One is the elderly lady from Ipoh  for this Buddhist lodge that runs a centre for the spastics. The other is this young man from Bangladesh. This is the story about him.

He would visit me every year, usually during Ramadhan. This has been going on for the last ten years. A learned young man, a tahfiz, which means that he can recite the Quran by heart.  A post graduate from UIA. He speaks English, Arabic and I guess urdu. His yearly mission is to solicit for funds for His so called Islamic university in Bangladesh.  The institutions has been recieving generous funding from Saudi Arabia but after 9/11 the amount has been greatly reduced. Malaysia becomes his hope.

I have been contributing, modestly. Each year it would be for a different project. It could be a new wing for the girls, a new lecture hall, reference books or whatever. It is education you see. It is a good cause.

One particular year, He asked for the purchase of a set of compilation of Hadith  for the the Faculty of Hadith. I asked him if the  faculty has a computer. Nahi he said. So instead of giving money to buy the set of Hadith which I am sure there are many willing contributors,  I gave him money to buy a computer. I just could not believe that such an an institution has no computer.  

When he came again, last year he reported that there are more computers now, but he is still not connected to the internet.

He spoke fondly about the development of Darul hadis or the faculty of hadith. I asked him if the institution has a Faculty of Quran? A stupid question.

No there is none. I still contributed but I hope that silly question will stir him up and get his priority right.

2 Responses to Darul Hadith, Darul Quran

  1. learningquranonline says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Cool site, love the info. I do a lot of research online on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks

    http://www.learningquranonline.com

  2. Elshad says:

    AsSalam-aleykum!

    I will appreciate if you enlight me onine Quran lessons receiving

    AsSalam-aleykum!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

