I was not born a Malaysian but Warga Persekutuan Tanah Melayu

1950s must have been exciting times for the  Malay nationalists and students of politics.

There were so many name change  for this country. It was a country  in transition.

It is easy to assume that it was Malaya then,  and now it  is Malaysia.  No it was not. Before The formation of Malaysia in 1963, there were the Malay States, the Federated Malay States, The Japanese Malaya,The Malayan Union and the Federation of Malay States. It is  easy to forget  the significance of each  and to not put each in proper perspective.

It is so easy to term Persekutuan Tanah Melayu  as Malaya and forgetting that there were  actually nine soverign Malay States and the  two Straits Settlements that made up Malaya.  It is being repeated now when Malaysia is said to be made up of Peninsular Malaysia and Sabah  and Sarawak.

There were objections when the term East and West malaysia were used, particularly from Sabah and Sarawak.  Correctly so. They insisted that it should be referred to the two soverign states Sabah and Sarawak. Rightfully the Federation of Malaysia is to be defined as a Federation of the 9 Malay States, Malacca, Pulau Pinang, Sabah and Sarawak.

It is so easy to forget that just 50 years ago this was  the Malay peninsular,, the Malay States, the Federation of Malay States with nine soverign sultans. So it was no surprise that when lately the Sultans are asserting their rights as allowed for constitutionally. They were  a recognized stakeholder during the constitunional negotiation.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: