The Year that was

What a wonderful and challenging year it was. It was a year of travel, physical and spiritual. In business it was a year of transformation and dogged determination. Grateful I am to the Almighty, that the family was a source of joy and strength.

The eshams, I meant ALL eshams spent the year in the home country. They did their travels but mostly for short stints. Almost all celebrations were fully attended. The younger ones had this wonderful privileges of being pampered and bullied by the big sisters and the big brother. The older ones in return had the joy of becoming responsible big brother and big sisters. They had been wonderful.

We had two new members of the family. Georgia Chapman was with us to be part of the family. Aiman in return, became the little ambassador to the Chapmans in Melbourne. What a wonderful job these two eleven year olds have done to strengthen and cement the ties and relationship between people of two far away lands. They put many elders and politicians to shame.

We adopted coco but not for long. He could not get along with the boys. Combined that with the heaps of poos, I had to clear, cut short the good intent. The children still missed him.

My frequent flyer was upgraded. I went to places I have never been. Yangoon was exotic. I rediscoverd ole amsterdam enroute to Munich. I had a taste of real Arabian hospitality. I did the journey to see His signs. I was the dew that managed to become part of the brook.

I had to travel to ole England three times in a year, to salvage a ground zero situation. in the end, It was relationship and trust that saved the day.

At work, relationships were put to the most severe of tests. My transformation agenda, many thought was impossible. They forgot that the tiger has been polite and kind. He may be wounded but he is still the king of the jungle. There were many I trusted that abandoned ship but I took it in my stride. The skipper may be wetting the pants, but no he will not let go the wheels to steer the fleet off the fierce tempest.

I learned something. Talents are every where. Reach out and leave the Zone.

There were those who were not honest and trustworthy. To all these people, thank you for leaving. To those who were genuinely affected and could not wither the storm., I thank you and I am sorry. To those who stayed back to become my deck hands I am grateful and will not forget you.

One after another the ship set sail, its sails raised in full glory. To the young skippers this is your day. Leave the comfort of the anchorage and discover the new world. Bring back the bounty.

It was again a double new year. On the day of Higra, my brother and I finally settled the unsettling issues of our inheritance. Mother must be pleased and relieved. I thank you almighty God.

Leave a Reply

